Barrow AFC National Supporters’ Club members arrive in Barrow for their Annual General Meeting ahead of the Maidstone United match on Saturday 8th October but this year they will be having a special celebration as it is the NSC’s 40th year anniversary.

Formed in 1976 the club have invited many of the original members of the club for pre-match celebrations in one of the Holker Street hospitality suites. The NSC will also be sponsoring the match ball.

Commenting on the anniversary Andy McKinnon, NSC Chairman, said “This is clearly an important landmark for the National Supporters’ Club and we are pleased that we can thank those members who were the foundation for enabling the club to be successful and their loyalty throughout the years.”

The NSC filled a vacuum as the original locally based supporters club had become defunct during Barrow’s Football League days.

Two London based supporters, Dave Leitch and Bob Steed, got the official agreement of club officials to set-up the NSC and subsequently a committee was formed that regularly met in Central London.

NSC members live throughout the UK and around the World but there are usually some members to be seen at many away games but also some of the Holker Street fixtures.

The NSC have also raised over £10,000 for Barrow AFC which include targeting funds towards helping the future success of the club such the provision of kits for the junior sides, support for ground upgrades including refurbishment of the bar area in the social club and a new stadium public address system.

The NSC also produce a regular newsletter ‘The National Zigger’ that has recently won the Association of Provincial Supporters’ Clubs in London (APSCIL) award for best newsletter. Members of APSCIL are mostly supporters’ clubs following teams from the Premier League and English Football League.

Source: Barrow AFC National Supporters’ Club

Follow us on Twitter

Contact Us

Editor: Chris Brookes
t: 0191 442 1001
HYPoint, Saltmeadows Road, Gateshead, Tyne & Wear. NE8 3DA

Get in touch

14 + 13 =

© 2021 Baltic Publications Limited