Ray Turner has stepped down as first team manager of Faversham Town with immediate effect.

First team coach Clive Walker has agreed to stay on to take this weekend’s home match against Haywards Heath Town.Turner informed the board and the players of his decision immediately following the 2-0 defeat against Sittingbourne on Saturday.

He was appointed manager towards the end of the 2010/11 season after successful stints as Under 18s manager and assistant manager to Justin Luchford. It was the club’s first in the Ryman League (now the Bostik League) after winning the Kent League Premier Division, and Town finished eighth.

In the following seasons he established the club at Ryman League level before leading them to the play-offs three times in 2012/13, 2014/15 and 2015/6 – twice missing out on promotion in the final.

Ray Turner said: “The time was right to step aside as first team manager of this wonderful football club. I take with me some fantastic memories but my time had to come to an end, and it’s now time for someone else to take this club forward.

“It’s very difficult to thank everyone who has helped and supported me but I would first like to thank all the players I have had the privilege to work with. I still believe the current squad can compete again for the play-offs this season and I wish them all the best.

“I would like to thank all the supporters that have been with me through good and bad and all the board members who have supported me, especially Ray Leader who I loved working for and Paul Bennett the current chairman who understood my reasons for leaving and without doubt will take this club forward.

“I would like to leave my final thank you to my brilliant management team, and in particular Clive Walker. He has stayed unequivocally loyal at all stages and I can’t thank him enough.”

Read more: http://www.favershamtownfc.co.uk

Contact Us

Editor: Chris Brookes
t: 0191 442 1001
e: cbrookes@balticpublications.co.uk
HYPoint, Saltmeadows Road, Gateshead, Tyne & Wear. NE8 3DA

Get in touch

2 + 12 =

© 2021 Baltic Publications Limited