The Football Association announced the nominees on Monday for this season’s Emirates FA Cup Giant-Killing Award, with Stourbridge one of four teams on the short-list.

Fellow Non-Leaguers Lincoln City and Sutton United of the National League have also been nominated, along with Sky Bet League One Millwall, following their heroics in securing famous victories against teams from a higher division.

Stourbridge are the lowest-ranked team on the short-list, winning six ties to reach the Third Round for the first time in our history. The 1-0 victory against League One Northampton Town, 89 places above us in the football pyramid, was our second victory over Football League opposition in just over five years.

The Glassboys are one of only two teams to have won six ties in this season’s FA Cup, along with Westfields of the Midland League. The eventual winners of the Cup will also need to win six ties to lift the trophy.

National League side Lincoln City secured their nomination for their 1-0 victory against Premier League Burnley at Turf Moor, which saw them make history in becoming the first non-league team to make the Quarter-Final stage since 1914, before going down 0-5 to Arsenal.

Sutton United received plaudits nationwide as they reached the Fifth Round for the first time, defeating high flying Championship side Leeds United 1-0 at Gander Green Lane. Sutton’s adventure was also ended by the Gunners who triumphed 2-0 at Gander Green Lane in the Last 16.

League One Millwall grabbed the headlines as they defeated three top flight teams to secure a place in the Quarter-Finals. Their last gasp 1-0 victory against Premier League champions Leicester City was the most memorable victory in their run, after earlier wins against Bournemouth and Watford.

The winner of the Giant-Killing Award will be decided by fans in a nationwide online vote on The award will be presented at the Emirates FA Cup Final by Ronnie Radford, scorer of one of the most memorable giant-killing goals for Hereford United against Newcastle United in 1972.

Previous winners of the Ronnie Radford Award are Crawley Town (2011), Swindon Town (2012), Luton Town (2013), Sheffield United (2014), Bradford City (2015) and Chesham United (2016).

Andy Ambler, The FA’s head of professional game relations said: “This has been a historic season in the Emirates FA Cup and producing a shortlist of giant-killing nominees was particularly difficult, such were the number of eye catching results. In their victories against higher opposition, all four clubs have demonstrated exactly what makes The Emirates FA Cup so special and why it remains the most loved and revered domestic cup competition worldwide.”

Fans have until midnight on Wednesday 10th May to vote and should do so by visiting The winner will be announced ahead of this season’s Emirates FA Cup Final.

Source: Stourbridge FC

Follow us on Twitter

Contact Us

Editor: Chris Brookes
t: 0191 442 1001
HYPoint, Saltmeadows Road, Gateshead, Tyne & Wear. NE8 3DA

Get in touch

4 + 15 =

© 2021 Baltic Publications Limited