New Wrexham boss Sam Ricketts says he will take his time over his summer recruitment, insisting he wants players who are hungry to succeed.

Ricketts, who has been in charge at the Racecourse for little more than a fortnight, unveiled his retained list on Monday as he began the process of building for next season.

Eight players – Shaun Pearson, Manny Smith, Kevin Roberts, James Jennings, Leo Smith, Akil Wright, Nicky Deverdics and Sam Wedgbury – were under contract at Wrexham beyond the summer, albeit Ricketts has since seen Wedgbury depart the club after the midfielder asked for his contract to be terminated.

On Monday the manager offered contracts to four of last season’s squad – Christian Dibble, Paul Rutherford, Chris Holroyd and Mark Carrington – all of whom have accepted their terms.

And the manager allowed seven – Scott Boden, Chris Dunn, Jonathan Franks, Marcus Kelly, Jack Mackreth, Olly Marx and David Raven – of the senior squad to depart.

Admitting it was the hardest part of his job, Ricketts added he had to be ruthless in order to bring in the players he felt necessary to take Wrexham forward.

“It is probably the worst thing to do in football, to tell players they are not going to get a new contract,” said the former Wales international defender. “But I had to make decisions and decisions for the best of Wrexham Football Club.

“I took my time on that to try and make the right decision in each case. I’ve been in that situation where you haven’t been in a manager’s plans, and all you can ask for is honesty and that is what I was with the players.”

Read more:

Contact Us

Editor: Chris Brookes
t: 0191 442 1001
HYPoint, Saltmeadows Road, Gateshead, Tyne & Wear. NE8 3DA

Get in touch

7 + 14 =

© 2021 Baltic Publications Limited